New Hampshire Parts Legislation Passes Senate, Awaits House Hearing

New Hampshire Senate Bill (SB) 436, introduced by State Senator Nancy Stiles (R-24)  requires an insurer to disclose whether or not an estimate has been prepared based on the use of aftermarket parts. The bill would also prohibit an insurer from requiring or specifying the use of aftermarket parts on certain leased vehicles, vehicles less than 2 years old, or vehicles with fewer than 30,000 miles.

The bill passed the Senate on March 3rd and is scheduled for a public hearing on March 29th.

In a letter to New Hampshire legislature, ASA stated, “We are writing today in support of Senate Bill 436.  This legislation is good for consumers, good for shops and consistent with trends in other jurisdictions.” To view the full text of the letter, please click here.


North Carolina Legislature Considers Shop Licensing Bill

North Carolina Senate Bill 454 (S454), sponsored by Senator Wyatt Tucker, would require general automotive repair and collision repair facilities in the state to be licensed.  The bill would also require licenses for estimators, service advisers, mechanical and collision repair technicians. In addition, S454 would establish the North Carolina Board of Examiners for Motor Vehicle Repair Shops and Collision Repairs. The board would be comprised of seven members who would hold three year terms, three nominated by the House, three by the Senate, and one consumer who would be nominated by the Governor. This bill is currently before the Senate Committee on Rules and Operations. To see the full text of the bill, please click here.


U.S. Department of the Treasury Releases Federal Insurance Office Study

WASHINGTON, D.C., Dec. 12, 2013 – The U.S. Department of the Treasury’s Federal Insurance Office (FIO), today, released their long-awaited report on how to modernize and improve the system of insurance regulation in the United States.

The report was mandated as part of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act.  The report was originally due in January 2012. The Congress wanted the Department of Treasury’s FIO to review federal versus state regulation of insurance.

Visit ASA’s legislative website at

The Automotive Service Association is the largest not-for-profit trade association of its kind dedicated to and governed by independent automotive service and repair professionals. ASA serves an international membership base that includes numerous affiliate, state and chapter groups from both the mechanical and collision repair segments of the automotive service industry.

ASA advances professionalism and excellence in the automotive repair industry through education, representation and member services. For additional information about ASA, including past news releases, go to, or visit ASA’s legislative website at


Contact: Kaitlyn Dwyer
(202) 543-1440
For Release: Immediate
News Bulletin 13.39

Michigan House and Senate Insurance Committees

Michigan House Committee on Insurance:


Pete Lund (R) ( Committee Chair, 36th District, Detroit, MI

Tom Leonard (R) ( Majority Vice-Chair, 93rd District, Clinton County and portions of Gratiot County, MI

Cindy Denby (R) ( 47th District, Livingston County, MI

Kevin Cotter (R) ( 99th District, Isabella County and Midland County, MI

Ben Glardon (R) ( 85th District, Shiawassee County and portions of Saginaw County, MI

Ken Goike (R) ( 33rd District, Armada, Lenox, Ray and Richmond townships, portions of Macomb township, Memphis city and the city of Richmond, MI

Andrea LaFontaine (R) ( 32nd District, portions of Macomb and St. Clair Counties, MI

Lisa Posthumus Lyons (R) ( 86th District, portions of Kent and Ionia County, MI

Aric Nesbitt (R) ( 66th District, Van Buren County and portions of Kalamazoo County, MI

Margaret O’Brien (R) ( 61st District, city of Portage and townships of Oshtemo, Prairie Ronde, Schoolcraft and Texas, MI


Kate Segal (D) ( Minority Vice-Chair, 62nd District, Calhoun County, MI

Ellen Lipton (D) ( 27th District, Oakland County, MI

Theresa Abed (D) ( 71st District, Eaton County, MI

Tom Cochran (D) ( 67th District, Ingham County, MI

Marcia Hovey-Wright (D) ( 92nd District, Muskegon County


Michigan Senate Committee on Insurance:


Joe Hune (R) ( Committee Chair, 22nd District, Livingston, Shiawassee and the southern part of Ingham Counties

Jim Marleau (R) ( Majority Vice Chair, 12th District, Oakland County

Jack Brandenburg (R) ( 11th District, Northern Macomb County

Geoff Hansen (R) ( 34th District, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, and Mason, and Michigan counties

David B Robertson (R) ( 26th District, Genessee County and Oakland County


Virgil Smith (D) ( Minority Vice Chair, 4th District, portions of Wayne county and Detroit

Steven M Bieda (D) ( 9th District, portions of Macomb County

Affordable Care Act Update:

Update: Nov. 1  is now the Deadline  for Employers to provide Employees Healthcare Option Notice 

I. Introduction

Many provisions of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (Affordable Care Act) that become effective beginning in 2014 are designed to expand access to affordable health coverage. These include provisions for coverage to be offered through a Health Insurance Marketplace (Marketplace), premium tax credits to assist individuals in purchasing such coverage, employer notice to employees of coverage options available through the Marketplace, and other related provisions. The Departments of Labor, Health and Human Services (HHS), and the Treasury are working together to develop coordinated regulations and other administrative guidance to assist stakeholders with implementation of the Affordable Care Act.

To view more click here.